Board of Supervisors Elections

South Indian River Water Control District (SIRWCD) was established as a Special District in 1923. SIRWCD is organized and exists pursuant to Chapter 298, Florida Statutes, as amended and supplemented, and other applicable provisions of law, including a number of special acts of the Florida Legislature relating to the District, particularly Chapter 2001-313, Laws of Florida.


The District is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors who serve three-year terms. Supervisors are elected by a vote of the landowners based on parcel acreage. All Supervisors must reside in Palm Beach County and must own land in the District. Current rules dictate that at least three Supervisors must reside in the District, with at least one Supervisor residing in the area east of the C-18 Canal and at least one residing in the area west of the C-18 Canal. One Supervisor must not be a resident of the District.


Ballots for the seats up for election are mailed out to landowners in early to mid-August each year and are due back to the District office by the third Thursday in September. A return envelope is included in the mailing. Landowners may also cast their ballot at the Annual Landowners Meeting, which also is held the third Thursday in September. Landowners whose District assessments are delinquent are not entitled to vote.


As specified in the District's Special Act, the ballots are counted and verified by the Palm Beach County Supervisor of Elections, who will certify the results.

Replacement, Lost or Damaged Ballots

Extra blank ballots are printed and numbered and kept locked at the District’s office for replacement purposes.


If a ballot envelope is returned by the Post Office, the District makes every effort to re-mail those ballots to the current owner by using information provided on the Property Appraiser’s website. If the website shows a new owner from that on the original mailing list, the new information is typed onto a blank ballot and mailed. A log of new owners is kept and sent to the Supervisor of Elections. All other envelopes are filed alphabetically and stored in a locked cabinet.


When a landowner calls to request a ballot due to it being misplaced, lost or never received, we verify ownership (Property Appraiser’s website), then we check the box of returned ballots. and if not found, we ask the owner to bring photographic identification to the District office to pick up a replacement ballot. If the owner has recently purchased the property and the Property Appraiser's website has not been updated, we ask the owner to bring proof of ownership as well (deed or tax bill). The District keeps a log of all replacement ballots given.


Landowners who request a replacement ballot are notified that the first ballot received in their name is the ballot that is counted and that
all further inquiries should be directed to the District office or attorney – not to the Supervisor of Elections.


On June 29, 2017, Michael Ryan resigned from the South Indian River Water Control District (SIRWCD) Board of Supervisors. At an abbreviated Board meeting on July 20, 2017, the Board appointed John Jones, a resident of Palm Beach Country Estates, to fill Mr. Ryan’s seat until the 2017 Board of Supervisors’ election was conducted.


One Supervisor will be elected for a term of three years. That candidate may not reside in the District, but must own land in the District and must be a resident of Palm Beach County. Tom Powell, who has served on the Board since 1981, is running for re-election for this seat.


Due to the resignation of Supervisor Ryan, a second seat was also on the ballot. Candidates for that seat must reside in the area of the District East of the South Florida Water Management District Canal 18 (C-18) and own land in the District. That term is for a period of two years, the remainder of Mr. Ryan's term. John Jones and Robert Berman have filed to run for this seat. Both are residents of Palm Beach Country Estates. As noted above, Mr. Jones has been appointed Supervisor by the Board and Mr. Berman has previously served on the Board from 1999-2010.


Official ballots were sent out August 11. Election ballots had to be received at the District office no later than 4:30 pm on September 21, 2017 or cast in person at the start of the Annual Landowners Meeting that evening.


The cerified results have been received from the Supervisor of Elections and are as follows:


Tom Powell - Unopposed Non-Resident Seat - Winner


Bob Berman - Eastside Resident Seat - 714

John Jones - Eastside Resident Seat - 1,717 - Winner


John Jones was sworn in at the October 19, 2017 Board of Supervisors Meeting. Mr. Powell, who was not in attendance was sworn in at the Board meeting held on November 30, 2018.


All candidates have signed the Oath of Candidate, which states they will resign from office within 30 days if their residency changes and causes the District's Board of Supervisors to no longer be in compliance with Chapter 2001-313, Laws of Florida.


Landowners should contact the District office at 561-747-0550 if they have questions.


The South Indian River Water Control District does not endorse any candidate.